Building My Own Private Metaverse!

Michael McAnally
2 min readNov 29, 2022

--

When I use the words private metaverse, I really mean personal, unique and open. Made from open source software, based on standards.

If you’re like me and you want your own metaverse, but can’t afford a 10 billion dollar metaverse infrastructure project, this article is for you.

If you want the freedom to define your own rules and are willing to work to attract others to your own private metaverse, then this may be the path for you . . .

It will take a variety of different skills, HTML, JavaScript, Node.js, Linux, Photoshop, Blender, WebXR, Marketing and just plain creativity!

It can be all hosted for about $12 a month. Unbelievable you say, it’s true.

There are a lot of caveats, but if you don’t believe me visit my server here and (then come back for a full detailed explaination):

How did I do this?

Well the technical answer is WebXR, A-Frame and Node.js. By combining these technologies in a special way, I was able to create my own metaverse, although very limited in capabilities (no login system, avatar configuration, etc). Even with those minor limitations, it still is a starting point for further development. You can find out the really gritty technical details in my free book which can be found here and on my other websites.

What do I use it for?

I use to show my art inside VR and out and have visits with my friends around the world. I have a virtual reality gallery now in a themed garden space and on my own private island. It’s amazing what $12 dollars can get you! I’m not even getting a cent for it.

Why am I telling you this?

Because, I want to make the metaverse an “open metaverse”, not one controlled mainly by a few wealthy companies and individuals. The open metaverse can be for all of humanity, rich and poor alike. When I use the words private metaverse, I really mean personal, unique and open. Made from open source software, based on standards.

--

--

Michael McAnally

Temporary gathering of sentient stardust. Free thinker. Evolving human. Writer, coder, and artist.